August 16-17: Model Calibration in R- Virtual
event-Short-Courses

August 16, 2022 - August 17, 2022

Back to all short courses

Model Calibration in R (Virtual)


LEVEL:
Intermediate
TRACK:
Methodological & Statistical Research
LENGTH:
4 Hours | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours each day

Register Here

Tuesday, 16 August 2022 | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours per day
10:00AM-12:00PM Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)
09:00AM-11:00AM Central Daylight Time (CDT)
14:00PM-16:00PM Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)

Wednesday, 17 August 2022 | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours per day
10:00AM-12:00PM Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)
09:00AM-11:00AM Central Daylight Time (CDT)
14:00PM-16:00PM Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)

Click for time zone conversion

DESCRIPTION

In this course, we will cover the steps and decisions involved in calibrating a mathematical model in R. We will begin the course with an overview of when model calibration is necessary and will introduce a general model calibration framework. We will then engage students in an extensive hands-on exercise where they will implement the calibration of a simple mathematical model in R using a simple random search. We will then introduce more advanced calibration approaches, including Latin hypercube sampling, directed search algorithms (eg, Nelder-Mead), Bayesian calibration, and other iterative calibration approaches (eg, genetic algorithms). We will discuss the tradeoffs of different calibration approaches and will identify scenarios when one approach may be more appropriate than others.

Participants who wish to gain hands-on experience are required to bring their laptops with R and RStudio installed.

FACULTY MEMBERS

Petros Pechlivanoglou, PhD, MSc
Scientist, Child Health Evaluative Sciences
The Hospital for Sick Children
Toronto, ON, Canada

Eva A. Enns, PhD, MS
Associate Professor
Division of Health Policy and Management
University of Minnesota School of Public Health
Minneapolis, MN, USA

Fernando Alarid-Escudero, PhD
Assistant Professor
Drug Policy Program
Center for Research and Teaching in Economics (CIDE)
Aguascalientes, Mexico


Basic Schedule:
4 Hours | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours each day

Your browser is out-of-date

ISPOR recommends that you update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on ispor.org. Update my browser now

×