ISPOR 20th Annual International Meeting Awards Recipients

Angela Buziak, Coordinator, Publications and Communications

The ISPOR Awards Program is designed to foster and recognize excellence and outstanding technical achievement in pharmacoeconomics/ health economics and outcomes research. In addition to scientific achievement, ISPOR also awards lifetime achievement and leadership awards to those who advance these disciplines in the field and by service to the Society.

At the ISPOR 20th Annual International Meeting, May 16-20, 2015, Philadelphia Marriot Downtown, Philadelphia, PA, USA, the ISPOR Scientific Achievement Awards, Research Presentation Awards, and ISPOR Distinguished Service Awards were announced. The ISPOR Awards Committee is chaired by **Sean Sullivan**, **PhD**, Stergachis Family Professor and Director, University of Washington, Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program, Seattle, WA, USA.

2015 ISPOR AVEDIS DONABEDIAN OUTCOMES RESEARCH LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

ISPOR's most prestigious award, the ISPOR Avedis Donabedian Outcomes Research Lifetime Achievement Award was established in honor of the late Avedis Donabedian, MD, MPH. The Award recognizes an individual's outstanding, life-long achievement in the area of improving health outcomes.



Anthony John (Tony) Culyer, CBE, BA, Hon DEcon, Hon FRCP, FRSA, FMedSci, Emeritus Professor of Economics, University of York, Heslington, York, UK

(Dr. Culyer will be presented his award at the ISPOR 18th Annual European Congress in Milan, Italy in November 2015).

A special thanks to Mark J. Sculpher, MSc, PhD, and the Avedis Donabedian Outcomes Research Lifetime Achievement Award Committee.

2015 ISPOR MARILYN DIX SMITH LEADERSHIP AWARD

The ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award was established in 2014 in honor of ISPOR's Founding Executive Director, Marilyn Dix Smith, RPh, PhD. The Award recognizes one individual each year that has provided extraordinary leadership to the Society.



Zeba M. Khan, RPh, PhD, Vice President, Celgene Corporation, Summit, New Jersey, USA

A special thanks to Scott D. Ramsey, MD, PhD, and the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award Committee.

ISPOR AWARD FOR VALUE IN HEALTH PAPER OF THE YEAR

The ISPOR Award for *Value in Health* Paper of the Year was established in 2011 to promote quality research, originality, and utility in health care decisions for articles published in *Value in Health*. The award is given to the best paper published in *Value in Health* (hard copy) in the previous calendar year.



Lucas M.A. Goossens, PhD, Assistant Professor of Quantitative Analysis, Erasmus University, institute for Health Policy & Management, Rotterdam, The Netherlands For the paper, "Should I Stay or Should I Go Home? A Latent Class Analysis of a Discrete Choice Experiment on Hospital-At-Home", *Value in Health* 2014;17:5,588–596.

(Dr. Goossens will be presented his award at the ISPOR 18th Annual European Congress in Milan, Italy in November 2015)

See page 41 of this issue for a commentary on the ViH Award selection process and finalists.

2015 ISPOR RESEARCH EXCELLENCE AWARDS

The recipients of the 2015 ISPOR Research Excellence Awards (one for Methodology Excellence and one for Application Excellence) are selected by the Awards Committee based on manuscripts that were published in respected peer-review journals and other communication venues (e.g., books, reports) between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014. Manuscripts that include a clear description of methods, along with the appropriate and creative applications (or proposal thereof in conceptual methodology work) of techniques to answer important questions in the field of pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research, are eligible for nomination. Such published manuscripts should have much impact on the field due to their acceptance and application by others.

The 2015 recipient of the ISPOR Award for Excellence in Methodology in Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes Research is:



Lisa A. Prosser, PhD, Associate Professor and Interim Director, Child Health Evaluation and Research (CHEAR) Unit, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

For the paper, "Measuring Family HRQoL Spillover Effects Using Direct Health Utility Assessment" Med Decis Making 2015; 35:81–93.

The 2015 recipient of the ISPOR Award for Excellence in Application of Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes Research is:



Joshua A. Roth, PhD, MHA, Assistant Member, AHRQ Patient-Centered Outcomes Research K12 Scholar, Hutchinson Institute for Cancer Outcomes Research, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA, USA

For the paper, "Economic Return From the Women's Health Initiative Estrogen Plus Progestin Clinical Trial: A Modeling Study" Ann Intern Med 2014;160:594-602.

A special thanks to Federico Augustovski, MD, MSc, PhD, Chair, ISPOR Research Excellence Award in Methodological Excellence and Dan Greenberg, PhD, Chair, ISPOR Research Excellence Award in Practical Application Excellence, and their Committee.

2015 ISPOR BERNIE J. O'BRIEN NEW INVESTIGATOR AWARD

The ISPOR Bernie J. O'Brien New Investigator Award was established in 2004 to honor the long-standing commitment of Bernie J. O'Brien, PhD to training and mentoring new scientists in the fields of outcomes research and pharmacoeconomics. The recipient must be an ISPOR member with evidence of exceptional promise as assessed by evaluating the nominee's emerging body of technical and scholarly work in the fields of pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research.

2015 ISPOR BERNIE J. O'BRIEN NEW INVESTIGATOR AWARDEE



Anupam B. Jena, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Health Care Policy and Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA, USA

A special thanks to Jalpa Doshi, PhD, and the Bernie O'Brien New Investigator Award Committee.

For complete ISPOR Board of Directors and Distinguished Service Awards presented at the ISPOR 20th Annual International Meeting, see: http://www.ispor.org/awards/ service/index.asp

To view the ISPOR 20th Annual International Meeting Podium and Poster Research Presentation Award recipients and presentations, go to: http://www.ispor.org/awards/20meet.asp

< ADVERTISEMENT >

Announcing

ONTINUUM

Continuum Clinical and Creativ-Ceutical form Strategic Alliance

The alliance leverages the strengths and experience of both organizations to help clients achieve their global product development and commercialization objectives.

Comprehensive services include:

- Health economics and outcomes research
- Real-world evidence development
- Pricing and market access strategy
- Observational research and patient registries

To learn more about the alliance, contact

Jeff Trotter

Continuum Clinical President CCinfo@continuumclinical.com 1.847.580.2200

www.continuumclinical.com

Mondher Toumi Creativ-Ceutical President chicago@creativ-ceutical.com 1.312.489.8318 www.creativ-ceutical.com



reativ.Ceutical