ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award Presentation and Recipient Remarks: Zeba M. Khan, RPh, PhD

The following remarks were given during the Awards Presentation at the ISPOR 20th Annual International Meeting, on May 18, 2015, Philadelphia, PA, USA. ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Award Committee member Renée J.G. Arnold, PharmD, RPh, presented the award to Zeba M. Khan, RPh, PhD. The following is Renée Arnold's introduction of Zeba M. Khan and her acceptance speech.

Award Presentation

The Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award was based on the idea that ISPOR would identify, support, and develop leadership, which was one of the core principles of Marilyn's vision for the organization as the Founding Executive Director of ISPOR. In recognition of this vision, and in honor of Marilyn's skills in developing ISPOR into its current status as the premier international Society supporting pharmacoeconomics, outcomes research, and related disciplines, the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award recognizes one individual each year that has provided extraordinary leadership to the Society.

On behalf of the ISPOR Board of Directors, as a member of the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award Committee, one of the Society's founding members, and particularly on this 20th anniversary of the Society's founding, it is my honor and pleasure to present the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award to Dr. Zeba Khan. Dr. Khan received her BS in Pharmacy from the University of Utah, and MS in Pharmacy and PhD in Pharmacy Administration, with a concentration in Pharmacoeconomics/ Health Outcomes, from The University of Texas at Austin. She is currently Vice President of Corporate Responsibility and Global Health Access for Celgene Corporation.

Dr. Khan has provided outstanding leadership and continued service to ISPOR for nearly 20 years in multiple facets of the organization. In addition to serving on the ISPOR Program and Planning Committee, ISPOR Fellowship Committee, ISPOR Awards Committee, ISPOR Vision 2005 Committee, as Co-Chair of the ISPOR Short Course Committee, and on the Board of Directors for ISPOR, she is currently serving as Treasurer of the organization. Zeba was instrumental in the formation of the ISPOR Student Network, was the first ISPOR Student Network Faculty Advisor since its inception in 2000, and has continued to serve in this capacity for nearly 15 years. During her tenure, the

ISPOR Student Network has grown from 5 student members in 1995 to almost 1300 members today, comprising 14% of the ISPOR membership with over 70 ISPOR Student Chapters in 18 countries, including the US, Canada, Europe, Asia, and Africa. Since it's through our new members that ISPOR will continue to grow, this has been a most important function within the organization.

The award recipient receives complimentary registration and travel expenses to the ISPOR Annual International Meeting at which the Award is presented, so Zeba, you've just saved your organization lots of money!

Acceptance Speech – Zeba M. Khan, RPh, PhD

I am very proud and honored to be the recipient of the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award. I would like to extend my thanks to the Award Committee and the ISPOR Board for recognizing me with this award. It is also a great honor to receive an award whose namesake represents the pinnacle of ISPOR leadership, Marilyn Dix Smith. Without Marilyn's service, dedication, and loyalty to this organization, we would not be where we are today.



2015 ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award winner Zeba M. Khan (left) with Renee Arnold

Not only is this award an honor for me and a privilege to be recognized by my peers, I feel it serves as recognition of all that ISPOR has accomplished for its future. Through our various initiatives such as the Short Courses, Special Interest Groups, Vision Committees, and strong efforts in developing our students, the future of ISPOR has been secured and made that much brighter; I see it in the participation and dedication of all of our members, from our students to our founders.

Marilyn's vision for ISPOR is realized in every individual who is a member of this distinguished organization. And I, on so many levels, am very proud and honored to be a part of the ISPOR journey. ■

The ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award

The ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award is international in scope and stature. The Award recognizes one individual each year that has provided extraordinary leadership to the Society. The recipient of this award will have shown consistent, broad, and meaningful direction to ISPOR in a leadership role.

The Award will be announced and presented to the chosen individual at either the ISPOR International Meeting or the ISPOR European Congress, as appropriate. The Award recipient will receive a complimentary registration and travel expenses to the ISPOR Annual International Meeting or ISPOR European Congress at which the Award is presented.

Nominations may be made by any ISPOR member. All nominations must include: a letter of recommendation indicating the reason for nomination, the nominee's contribution to the Society and its mission, and the nominee's curriculum vitae.

For complete background, criteria, selection process, and nature of the award, can be found at: http://www.ispor.org/awards/leadership.asp.

Nominations are due by December 5, 2015 and should be sent to: awards@ispor.org
For information, contact Angela Buziak, Assistant Manager, Publications and
Communications, at: abuziak@ispor.org